MOSAIC

mosaicDonald Crank was born in the small Chicago suburb of Evanston and lived in a nearby community until he was four. From four to twelve, he lived in Pakistan where his family carried out missionary work. Since then, he has spent the bulk of his time in Cincinnati.

“My artistic influences began with animation and video gaming. At a certain point, I came under the influence of Fantastic Realism and Surrealism. The decisive impact of the Polish artist Zdzislaw Beksinski in providing me with a desire to work in this direction can’t be understated: he’s a brilliant master of expressive art that is not known well enough worldwide. Despite the fact that I find his work worthy of emulation, I hope that my own art does not resemble his in an excessive way. As far as I see it, the purpose of any introspective art is to be just that, introspective. The work that I create is a mirror of certain sort, directed towards my own internal nature, and hopefully, because of the abstract nature of the imagery, towards some aspect of the viewer as well. People often provide me with differing interpretations of certain images, but there is often a steadiness to the overall current of interpretation.

The images on the wall represent different degrees of influence ranging from drawings done in a quiet room, to works that were channeled in a very compelling way. The main focus of my art at this point is the relationship between inspiration and understanding and my various attempts to synthesize the two, says Crank.”

Please join us this on Saturday, May 11th from 6p.m. to 10p.m. for the new art exhibition, lovely weather and Northside Second Saturdays, our favorite night in the neighborhood.

http://laskroto.cghub.com/

Leave a Reply

