Ideal Form

Shane Treacy“I am an artist currently living in Cincinnati. I moved from Chicago a little less than a year ago. I lived, studied and worked in Chicago for 15 years. During my time in Chicago, I attended the American Academy of Art, where I learned the fundamentals of art and life drawing. Then, I studied painting and fine art at The School of the Art Institute of Chicago, where I studied under working artists John Phillips, Pala Townsend, and Karl Wirsum. I’ve been painting and drawing most all my life. It’s what I know and do best.

I believe in never losing your creative spirit. It is something that everyone is born with, but can be lost or almost unlearned throughout life. Enjoying and making art requires using this creative sense and questioning things, in combination with all of our other senses. Art is a part of our culture and gives a voice sometimes more powerful than words. I couldn’t imagine doing anything else. I truly enjoy making, collecting and looking at art and all things creative. I am fortunate to be an artist in a new city, which is inspiring and affords me the ability to make a living doing what I am passionate about.

In this new body of work called “Ideal Form,” I am continuing to explore the human shape, which I have been interested in for the past few years. I try to express the beauty of the human shape differently through color, line and the texture of paint. I like the idea of taking something that already exists, such as a painting by Corbet, using this as a starting point and changing it visually by using color, my own personal vision and experimentation. It is interesting to me to see how space changes when viewed through different eyes. This is a simple idea, but it’s also loaded with infinite variables and new discoveries of the inner self. It’s not always easy for me to describe my art and my painting techniques in words. Sometimes, transcribing my ideas and personal touch doesn’t come out as clearly in words as it does in just the work itself. But, my hope is that my art can be understood and enjoyed by many using a familiar subject.”

Please join us for fabricate‘s first exhibition and Northside Second Saturdays in 2014 on Saturday, January 11 from 6-10PM.

Leave a Reply

